Windower: Spellcast mentor - Windower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Spellcast mentor

#1 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 10 March 2012 - 10:02 PM

Anyone want to be my spellcast mentor? Yes I am being serious.:lol:
0

#2 User is offline   Genesisx 

  • General Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: +Moderators
  • Posts: 1641
  • Joined: 06-August 07
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 March 2012 - 01:24 PM

http://forums.window...ide-discussion/

I've gotten a lot of positive feedback on it and quite a few number of people stated that it helped them get a grip on spellcast.

0

#3 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 11 March 2012 - 03:43 PM

Ya I read that and it helped with the basics, but I am looking to improve on my knowledge so I can apply it to multiple xml's. Also I had some specifc case questions that I am either not understanding from your thread or not seeing what I am looking to do.
0

#4 User is offline   Iryoku 

  • Jedi
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: +Plugin Developers
  • Posts: 709
  • Joined: 07-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Iryoku
  • Server: Quetzalcoatl
  • Jobs: PLD99 MNK99 SMN99
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 11 March 2012 - 04:17 PM

Well, feel free to post your questions, that's what this forum is for ^^.
0

#5 User is offline   Gukai 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: 29-April 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Gukai
  • Server: Unicorn
  • Jobs: MNK SAM RNG BLM SMN DNC WHM
  • Race: Elvaan Male
  • Linkshell: RubyQueen

Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:42 AM

yep, you can also dissect the submitted ones. i think start with easier ones and then go more complicated. stay away from auto exec until you have a handle on spellcast, otherwise you'll get more confused. dnc is pretty straight forward, then thf, sam, drk, nin, whm, blm, and do mine or nitsuj's smn. When you can understand that, you're in excellent shape.

and like they said above, just ask!
0

#6 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:59 PM

Since I have to start somewhere, this is the basic xml I wrote just kind of playing around with simple stuff I do with macros already. From here I don't want to jump to far forward, as to getting into an include yet, I would like to include variables for swaping in pdt and mdt set's for my tp set with simple on and off commands for each. Also if anyone sees a mistake or a better way to write certain parts that I can apply throughout please let me know. Thanks for your help in advance.



http://pastebin.com/uUp6hW1R
0

#7 User is offline   Iryoku 

  • Jedi
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: +Plugin Developers
  • Posts: 709
  • Joined: 07-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Iryoku
  • Server: Quetzalcoatl
  • Jobs: PLD99 MNK99 SMN99
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 13 March 2012 - 06:36 AM

First start there are a few errors.

Line 91:
You misspelled "type", and have an extra double quote at the end of your BuffActive attribute. You might also want to add Sleep, Petrification, Stun, and Terror to the list as well, since they will stop magic.

Line 97:
<else ...> should be <elseif ...> and needs to be closed with </elseif>.

Lines 100, 101, 111, 112:
The <elseif> and <if ...> should be combined into a single rule.

Line 114:
commandprefix="/ja" won't work.
You need to use commandprefix="/jobability", type="JobAbility|WeaponSkill|PetCommand|BloodPactRage|BloodPactWard|Corsair*|Samba|Waltz|Step|Jig|Flourish*|Scholar", or skill="Ability".
I recommend skill="Ability"; it works, but is technically undocumented.

Line 115:
You don't need mode="or" here. The closing </if> needs to be moved up to just after <return/>.


In addition to fixing the above errors I made a few alterations. In general you should keep references to jobs out of your scripts as much as possible; including job names in various set and group names has the effect of tying logic to a single job, making it harder to extract common rules out into includes later. Beyond that I altered the casing to be more consistent, and slightly altered the structure of the code.

http://pastebin.com/bgx3G1hK
0

#8 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 13 March 2012 - 02:35 PM

Iryoku, Thanks for taking the time to look it over, I see were I made mistakes in the flow. I have a few questions though:
With restraint the gloves need to stay on the entire time it is up, am I able to still lock them in place for the duration I have the buff active?
Also I see alot of people defining cast delays for job abilities, and specifically coding in to equip sets during precast ie 'equip when="precast" ', is this needed?

Now that I have a base how to add in script to let me switch pdt and mdt out for my tp and back?
0

#9 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:56 AM

So I think from the looks of my xml it should work, but when i load it doesnt.... any help is appreciated.



http://pastebin.com/70SZRRhi




0

#10 User is offline   sdahlka 

  • Elite Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 361
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 14 March 2012 - 04:42 AM

the only thing i see is
line 128 :
<set name="MDT" baseset="WARUkkos">

you have no set WARUkkos
i thnk it should be:
<set name="MDT" baseset="Ukkos">

This post has been edited by sdahlka: 14 March 2012 - 04:42 AM

if someone helps you be kind and post back to let them know if it worked
0

#11 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:41 AM

View Postsdahlka, on 14 March 2012 - 04:42 AM, said:

the only thing i see is
line 128 :
<set name="MDT" baseset="WARUkkos">

you have no set WARUkkos
i thnk it should be:
<set name="MDT" baseset="Ukkos">

Thanks I thought I grabbed all of those.

The Error I was getting when i loaded it was a syntax error from line 209. When I opened it in firefox I got the same error but it specified "line 209, expected </elseif>" something like that, so I added the </elseif> before my </rules> and it opened without any errors in firefox, but still would not work in SC. I don't see anywhere I hadnt closed an elseif so I am not sure why I would need an extra one.
0

#12 User is offline   Yonko 

  • Jedi Grandmaster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1846
  • Joined: 09-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lowell Ma
  • Name: Yonko
  • Server: Shiva
  • Jobs: Depends on the day
  • Race: Mithra
  • Linkshell: WorthlessLS

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:54 AM

View Postherot, on 14 March 2012 - 09:41 AM, said:

Thanks I thought I grabbed all of those.

The Error I was getting when i loaded it was a syntax error from line 209. When I opened it in firefox I got the same error but it specified "line 209, expected </elseif>" something like that, so I added the </elseif> before my </rules> and it opened without any errors in firefox, but still would not work in SC. I don't see anywhere I hadnt closed an elseif so I am not sure why I would need an extra one.

you have an extra elseif on line 175 it doesn't have a condition in it through.
for issues with spellcast xml get these 2 things should help
notepad ++
http://notepad-plus....net/uk/site.htm
with the xml tools
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/commun...XMLTools_46.zip
Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   Iryoku 

  • Jedi
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: +Plugin Developers
  • Posts: 709
  • Joined: 07-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Iryoku
  • Server: Quetzalcoatl
  • Jobs: PLD99 MNK99 SMN99
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:14 AM

View Postherot, on 13 March 2012 - 02:35 PM, said:

...I see alot of people defining cast delays for job abilities, and specifically coding in to equip sets during precast ie 'equip when="precast" ', is this needed?

It's a matter of style really. The default value for the when attribute is "precast", so specifying when="precast" doesn't do anything. It does make your intentions more explicit, though. (For humans, Spellcast doesn't care.)
0

#14 User is offline   herot 

  • New Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 09-June 11
  • Name: Herot
  • Server: Asura
  • Jobs: Thief
  • Race: Elvaan Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:20 AM

Well not to say I have "given up" on writting my own xml, but since I have better learned to read and understand spellcast, I am going to just modify completed ones to suit my needs. Why reinvent the wheel if it's not broken right? Thank you to everyone who helped me out.
0

#15 User is offline   Gukai 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: 29-April 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Gukai
  • Server: Unicorn
  • Jobs: MNK SAM RNG BLM SMN DNC WHM
  • Race: Elvaan Male
  • Linkshell: RubyQueen

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:56 AM

Thats fine, you'll learn that way too, good luck to you
0

#16 User is offline   Sealorik 

  • New Member
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 30-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Sealorik
  • Server: Fenrir
  • Jobs: BST/SMN/PUP/
  • Race: Mithra

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:29 AM

hate to ask but i seem to be running into an error

http://pastebin.com/bPrQzSj5

Error i run into is when i swap to "Engaged".
spellcast cant find the "Engaged" gear armor set.
any help would be appreciate

~Sea
0

#17 User is offline   Sealorik 

  • New Member
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 30-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Name: Sealorik
  • Server: Fenrir
  • Jobs: BST/SMN/PUP/
  • Race: Mithra

Posted 24 June 2013 - 09:14 AM

never mind i figure out the problem, feel like a noob now, forgot to load the files after each modify
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users